TMC Library: Staff guide to the library : Resources

We place our book orders through Browns Books. Browns Books

We kindly request that you submit your reading lists by the end of May, allowing us to process the orders in time for September.

Send your reading lists/book requests to your local library team via email or reach out at library@tmc.ac.uk

When placing your book orders, please keep in mind that it may take up to three weeks for the books to arrive.

The library pays for you to be able to use high quality information collected together into databases. In library research, a database is where you find:

journal articles
images
films, TV and radio programmes
specialist subject information

Each database contains thousands of items which you can search simultaneously and quickly to find the most recent or most relevant information.

Remember, if you can’t find what you are searching for, ask one of the library staff, or if you would like more direct one to one support on library searching or advanced library searching, you can book an appointment with a member of the library team.

Databases

Anatomy.tv: Primal Pictures	Interactive online learning modules on anatomy and physiology, systems of the body and cell biology. Includes interactive 3D models and animations, as well as case studies, clinical content and quizzes.
Box of Broadcasts	BoB is an on demand TV and radio service for education. Record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search the extensive archive
Britannica Academic Encyclopedia	Academic edition of this well known and highly respected reference book. Search for articles, biographies, primary sources and statistics.
Britannica Image Quest	Access over 3 million copyright free images.
Cite Them Right	Cite Them Right is an online platform designed to advise students on how to reference correctly across eight referencing styles. Based on the best-selling book in its 12th edition, by Richard Pears and Graham Shields, this programme is trusted by institutions globally, and accessed by thousands of students daily.
Community Care Inform - Adults	Community Care Inform Children and Community Care Inform Adults provide online resources for social workers and social care professionals.
Digital Theatre +	Provides a growing number of recent British theatre productions with study guides, interviews with leading playwrights, directors, producers, actors, and technical theatre staff.
Drama Online	Excellent online resource for plays, critical analysis and performance. Lots of full-text plays and playwright information.
Science Direct	ScienceDirect journal database from Elsevier. Access to two valuable collections: 1. Nursing and Health Professions: Access to 130 journals 2. Health Sciences: Access to 874 journals
Westlaw	An online legal research service and proprietary database for lawyers and legal professionals available in over 60 countries. Westlaw includes more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources
Worth Global Style Network (WGSN	The world's leading online research, trend analysis and news service for the fashion and style industries.

Library Catalogue

If you’re searching for just books and eBooks search our Library catalogue

Your Library Account lets you see what you have borrowed from the library, and make reservations. It is part of the Library Catalogue and it is available 24/7.

Library Search Tool

To find books, eBooks, news articles, journals and much more! utilise our library search feature.

How to Use Library Search