TMC Library: Childhood and Youth Studies: HE Resources

Growing up in a Digital Age

eBooks
Books

Digital Experience Design : Ideas, Industries, Interaction by Linda Leung
See Chapter 2: Users as Learners: Rethinking Digital Experiences as Inherently Educational
Developing Writers: Teaching and Learning in the Digital Age by Andrews, Richard, Smith, Anna
See Chapter 8: Writing in the Digital Age. This chapter discusses various changes in digital technology over time and the impact they have had on learners and learning.
Guide to Teaching Practice by Cohen, L. et al.
See Chapter 2: Information technology and changes in teaching and learning

Teaching and Learning in the Digital Age by Louise Starkey
Considers the impact of emerging digital technologies on teaching and learning, and explores the concept of a digital age and perspectives of knowledge, pedagogy and practice within a digital context.
Learning identities in a digital age by A. Loveless and B.Williamson
Learning Identities in a Digital Age provides a critical exploration of how education has been reimagined for the digital future.
Effective teaching with internet technologies by A. Pritchard
All schools now have internet access, but the potential of internet technology as a teaching and learning tool is still far from fully realised. This timely book helps teachers develop pedagogical skills in using the internet through a series of case studies of good practice, all of which are based on extensive classroom research.

Historical and International Perspectives

eBooks
Books

A Curriculum for the Pre-School Child : Learning to Learn by Audrey Curtis
See Chapter 1: Early educators and their influences on the curriculum.
Child Care and Education : Early Years Educator by Carolyn Meggitt, , Tina Bruce and Stephen Halder
Unit 12 summarises key theoretical and international perspectives.
International Perspectives on Research in Early Childhood Education by Olov Olson et al.
Discusses the Montessori approach and various international perspectives on Early Years education.
Theories of Childhood: An Introduction to Dewey, Montessori, Erikson, Piaget & Vygotsky by C. Mooney
Theories of Childhood provides a basic introduction to each theorist and explains the relationship of theory to practice and its impact on real children, teachers, and classrooms.

The Routledge-Falmer Reader in the History of Education by G. McCulloch (ed.)
This Reader brings together a wide range of material to present an international perspective on topical issues in the history of education today.
Exploring education studies by V. Walkup
Exploring Education Studies is a rich and multi-layered investigation of the world of education. Built around four central themes - history and philosophy, psychology, current policy, and new perspectives in education.
The Routledge international handbook of critical education by M. Apple and W. Au
The Routledge International Handbook of Critical Education is the first authoritative reference work to provide an international analysis of the relationship between power, knowledge, education, and schooling.

Understanding and managing children's behaviours

eBooks
Books

Early Years Management In Practice by Maureen Daly, Elisabeth Byers, and Wendy Taylor
This book is fully updated in-line with the Early Years Foundation Stage and the new National Occupational Standards in Leadership and Management for Care Services, so you can be sure you've got the right information.
Behaviour in the Early Years by Angela Glenn; Jacquie Cousins; Alicia Helps
Encourages the practitioner to think about how they handle difficult situations and to understand why children behave as they do.
Guiding the Behaviour of Children and Young People by Jennie Lindon
Provides the theory and concepts to ensure readers develop a thoughtful approach to the issues surrounding behaviour.

Managing children's behaviour by S. Riddall-Leech
This book covers both the theory and practice of behaviour management from birth to adolescence. Written as a guide for students, it should also be useful to primary teachers, classroom assistants, workers in social care and playworkers.
Dictionary of disruption : A practical guide to behaviour management by L. Leaman
An A-Z guide to behaviour management in primary and secondary schools, containing practical advice and ideas.
Getting the buggers to behave by S. Cowley
In this brand new edition, Sue takes a detailed look at the use of incentives for managing behaviour, how to implement a restorative justice approach in order to change children's behaviour and also identifies the ten most common forms of misbehaviour and how to deal with them.

Community Services and Working with Families

eBooks
Books

Early Intervention by Sharon Vincent
Early investment in vulnerable families, both in terms of the timing of early support or at the onset of issues, is more effective and cheaper than specialist support which is offered only after problems become complex.
Youth, Multiculturalism and Community Cohesion by Paul Thomas
This book discusses the meaning and practice of British community cohesion policies, youth identities in racially-tense areas and the British government's attempts to 'prevent violent extremism' amongst young Muslims.
Social Policy by Ken Blakemore; Kenneth Blakemore (Editor); Edwin Griggs (Editor)
This book offers a broad introduction to current developments in social policy and welfare to provide a comprehensive, readable and thought-provoking introductory in to UK social policy.

Safeguarding and child protection: Linking theory and practice by J. Lindon
Linking Theory and Practice has helped thousands of students make the right connections between their lectures and the real settings that they go on to work in. This latest edition of Safeguarding and Child Protection provides a useful overview of the subject in straightforward language.
Child welfare and social policy by H. Hendrick
Provides an essential one-stop introduction to the key concepts, issues, policies and practices affecting child welfare, with particular emphasis on the changing nature of the relationship between child welfare and social policy.
Ensuring every child matters by G. Knowles
Issues discussed include social justice, diversity and inclusion, the child in society, and working with families. Case studies are provided in each chapter, along with activities, suggestions for further reading and useful websites.

Key Concepts for Understanding Curriculum by Colin Marsh
Explores the strengths, weaknesses and controversies around major concepts in curriculum. Now updated with new chapters on curriculum models, school-based curriculum development, learning studies and ICT developments.
A Curriculum for the Pre-School Child by Audrey Curtis
This new edition has been fully revised to take account of changes in the National Curriculum, the publication of the government's 'desirable outcomes' statement for the under-fives, and the introduction of NVQ's in child care and education.
Essential Early Years by Louise Dryden, Ruth Forbes, and Penny Mukherji
Essential Early Years is the major new textbook for higher education students in Early Years and Early Childhood Studies. It covers all aspects of Early Years theory and practice and child development in an accessible, comprehensive and highly readable way.

Key Concepts for Understanding Curriculum by Colin Marsh
Explores the strengths, weaknesses and controversies around major concepts in curriculum. Now updated with new chapters on curriculum models, school-based curriculum development, learning studies and ICT developments.
Planning an appropriate curriculum in the early years by R. Rodger
A comprehensive guide for early years practitioners and students on how to plan and implement a suitable curriculum for the children in an Early Years setting.
The curriculum : theory and practice by A. Kelly
Kelly summarises and explains the main aspects of curriculum theory, and shows how these can and should be translated into practice, in order to create an educational and democratic curriculum for all schools at all levels.

Leadership and management

eBooks
Books

Professionalism in the Early Years by Linda Miller and Carrie Cable
See Chapter 7: Leadership in the Early Years by Linda Pound
Early Years Management In Practice by Maureen Daly, Elisabeth Byers, and Wendy Taylor
This book is fully updated in-line with the Early Years Foundation Stage and the new National Occupational Standards in Leadership and Management for Care Services, so you can be sure you've got the right information.
Children and Young People’s Workforce - Level 3 Diploma Candidate Handbook by Janet Stearns, Mark Walsh and Clare Schmieder
Written by Penny Tassoni and a team of expert childcare tutors and trainers, so you can be sure that content is reliable , relevant and of the highest quality.

Early Years Management In Practice by Maureen Daly, Elisabeth Byers, and Wendy Taylor
This book is fully updated in-line with the Early Years Foundation Stage and the new National Occupational Standards in Leadership and Management for Care Services, so you can be sure you've got the right information.
Leadership and management in the early years by J. Moyles
Effective Leadership and Management in the Early Years is an essential tool for all those who lead and manage within early years settings, which they can use for evaluating their effectiveness.
Leadership in early childhood by J. Rodd
Leadership in Early Childhood is a practical resource for early childhood practitioners who want to understand how to create successful childcare and early education settings.

Longitudinal study

eBooks
Books

Understanding Child Development, 0-8 Years by Jennie Lindon
This book will enable students and practitioners to understand what happens within early childhood and factors that promote secure learning and well being.
Understanding Children and Young People by Jennie Lindon
Links theory and practice in a user-friendly way.
It covers every conceivable developmental issue from 5-18 years, providing excellent coverage of the mid-childhood and adolescent years.
Development Psychology by Dominic Upton (Editor); Penney Upton
This revision guide provides concise coverage of the central topics within Developmental Psychology. See Chapter 1: Themes, theories and key figures in developmental psychology.

Cognitive and language development in children by J. Oates and A. Grayson
An up–to–date and accessible account of how thinking and language develop during childhood.
The Developing Child by D. Boyd and H. Bee
The Developing Child gives students the tools they need to organise, retain, and apply information from the broad field of child psychology, while offering balanced coverage of theory and application.
Bright start : Understand and stimulate your child's development from birth to 5 years by R. Woolfson
Practical suggestions on how to ensure the development of hand-eye coordination, language, learning, and physical and social skills.

The Importance of Play

eBooks
Books

Varied Perspectives on Play and Learning by Ole Fredrik Lillemyr (Editor); Sue Dockett (Editor); Bob Perry (Editor)
This book brings together an international group of researchers reporting on their work about play and early childhood education across 13 countries.
New Playwork: Play and Care for Children 4-16 by Annie Davy and Jane Gallagher
A comprehensive guide for both students and playwork professionals. Packed with case studies, activities and illustrations, New Playwork contains a wealth of ideas for successful playwork and is an invaluable reference for this rapidly developing profession.
Learning Through Play, 2nd Edition For Babies, Toddlers and Young Children by Tina Bruce
his definitive guide to the values behind play, the importance of play for child development from 0 to 5 years old, and best practice for cultivating play in an Early Years or Educational setting.

Playing and Reality by D. W. Winnicott
What are the origins of creativity and how can we develop it - whether within ourselves or in others? Not only does Playing and Reality address these questions, it also tackles many more that surround the fundamental issue of the individual self and its relationship with the outside world.
Foundations of Playwork by F. Brown and C. Taylor
"Foundations of Playwork is a must-read for anyone with an interest in playwork or children's services. It shows the breadth, depth and value of our work with and on behalf of children." Mike Greenaway, Director of Play Wales.
Evolutionary Playwork by B. Hughes
Hughes explores the complexities of children's play, its meaning and purpose, and argues that adult-free play is essential for the psychological well-being of the child.

Creating Inclusive Environments

eBooks
Books

Supporting Every Child's Learning Across the Early Years Foundation Stage by Vicky Hutchin
Practical skills in observing, making assessments and using these assessments in planning are essential for all practitioners working with young children. See Chapter 3: Planning for every child's learning.
Equality and Inclusion in Early Childhood by Jennie Lindon
Equality and inclusion in early childhood will help you to understand the key principles and best practice across the areas of social inclusion: gender, ethnic group and cultural background or faith, disability and health.
Promoting Inclusive Practice by Christina Tilstone (Editor); Lani Florian (Editor); Richard Rose (Editor); Sally Beveridge (Introduction by)
Current policy demands that mainstream schools seek to include pupils with special educational needs. This book takes a close look at how exactly this aim can be achieved by examining the various parts of the educational process.

Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education by D. Smith (ed.)
Explores the historic and contemporary context for diversity, and how diversity is framed at a national and institutional level.
Equality in Early Childhood by J. Lindon
Equality in Early Childhood is a comprehensive guide to effective practice for all early years, school and out-of-school services.
Achievement and Inclusion in Schools by L. Florian, M. Rouse and K. Black-Hawkins
Are there strategies which can raise the achievement of all students, while safeguarding the inclusion of others who are more vulnerable? How can schools ensure high levels of inclusion as well as high levels of achievement for everyone?

Industry Based Practice

eBooks
Books

Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by Christopher Johns
A unique insight into reflective practice, exploring the value of using models of reflection, with particular reference to Christopher Johns' own model for structured reflection.
Reflective Practice and Early Years Professionalism by Jennie Lindon
Reflective practice and early years professionalism provides you with detailed support for developing reflective practice in early years provision.
Teaching and Learning Through Reflective Practice by Tony Ghaye
Now in its second edition, Teaching and Learning through Reflective Practice is a practical guide to enable all those involved in educational activities to learn through the practices of reflection.

Reflective Practice and Early Years Professionalism by J. Lindon
Reflective practice and early years professionalism provides you with detailed support for developing reflective practice in early years provision.
Reflective Practice in the Early Years by M. Reed and N. Canning (Eds.)
Written for anyone working in the field of early years education and care, this book encourages students and practitioners to consider their own practice and to examine practice in a wide range of early years settings.
Developing Professional Practice 0-7 by S. Blandford and C. Knowles
A guide to developing the understanding and practical skills necessary for working within early years education.

Useful Websites

Early Education

A national charity supporting early years practitioners with training, resources and professional networks, and campaigning for quality education for the youngest children.

Foundation Years

The best place to find information and support if you work in the early years and childcare delivering services for children and families.

Play England

Play England's vision for England is to be a country where everybody can fully enjoy their right to play throughout their childhood and teenage year

National Children's Bureau

Working to enable children & young people to fulfill their right to grow up safe, secure & supported and achieve their potential.

The National Curriculum

The national curriculum sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at all 4 key stages

Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA)

QCA is committed to building a world-class education and training framework that meets the changing needs of individuals, business and society.