Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St John's Access to English
Quick search for books, eBooks and DVDs.
The Gothic a Very Short Introduction, Nick Groom
Examines all aspects of the 'Gothic', including architecture, fiction, culture, literature, poetry, photography, and film.
Gothic condition : Terror, history and the psyche, Punter David
This book brings together fourteen of the most ambitious and thought-provoking recent essays by David Punter, who has been writing on the Gothic for over thirty years.
The Cambridge Companion to British Romanticism
A guide to Romantic literature that explains the historical roots, intellectual interest, and cultural range of British Romanticism. It includes a chronology of major publications and events, and an extensive guide to further reading.
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespearean Tragedy
A guide to the Shakespearean tragedy. This book covers Titus Andronicus, Romeo and Juliet, Julius Caesar, Antony and Cleopatra, Coriolanus and Timon of Athens.
The Cambridge Companion to the Victorian Novel
This book provides insight into Victorian society and culture. It combines literary study of the novel as a form with analysis of the context in which it was written and read, allowing students to gain a deeper understanding of the texts.
A dictionary of symbols, Cirlot, J. E.
In this important work, originally published in 1962, author J. E. Cirlot presents an extensive study of symbolism in all of its aspects.
The Watkins dictionary of symbols, Tresidder, Jack
This accessible and comprehensive guide features more than 2,000 major themes from Absinthe to the Zodiac.
Dictionary of Symbols, Chevalier, Jean
This remarkable and wide-ranging book is an inventory of symbols and the symbolic imagination.
An illustrated encyclopaedia of traditional symbols, Cooper, J C
In nearly 1500 entries, many of them strikingly and often surprisingly illustrated, J. C. Cooper has documented the history and evolution of symbols from prehistory to our own day.
Frankenstein, or the Modern Prometheus by
Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus is a novel written by English author Mary Shelley (1797–1851) that tells the story of Victor Frankenstein, a young scientist who creates a grotesque but sapient creature in an unorthodox scientific experiment.
Written by Irish author Bram Stoker, this gothic, horror novel tells the story of Jonathan Harker's visits to Count Draculas crumbling, old castle set on the border of Transylvania.
New edition of bestselling introductory text outlining the history and ways of reading Gothic literature.
Reading poetry, Tom Furniss
Reading Poetry offers a comprehensive and accessible guide to the art of reading poetry. Successive chapters introduce key skills and critical or theoretical issues .
Women, Modernism and British Poetry, 1910–1939 : Resisting Femininity.
Primarily a literary history, Women, Modernism and British Poetry, 1910-1939 provides a timely discussion of individual women poets who have become, or are becoming, well-known as their works are reprinted but about whom little has yet been written.
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare. Kinney, Arthur F..
Situated within the Oxford Handbooks to Literature series, the group of Oxford Handbooks to Shakespeare are designed to record past and present investigations and renewed and revised judgments by both familiar and younger Shakespearean specialists.